Event: Irish Paediatric Anaesthesia and Critical Care Society (IPACCS) meeting 2019. CPD Points: 5 CPD points allocated. Date:  Friday 18 October 2019 evening and Saturday 19 October 2019 morning. Venue: College of Anaesthesiologists of lreland, 22 Merion Square, Dublin 2. Call for Abstracts:  Trainee presentations welcome and closing date is 30 September 2019. Registration: Consultants €120 Trainees €60 Tickets at: Please see poster for more registration information (.pdf) Programme: Friday 18 October 18.30 – 19.00 Registration & coffee 19.00 – 20.00 Speakers Advances in Preterm Care - Dr John Murphy  The Surgical Neonate - Dr Liam Claffey 20.30 Dinner Saturday 19 October 08.30 – 09.00 Registration & coffee 09.00

The National Patient Safety in Anaesthesia Conference will take place in CAI, 22 Merrion Sq North on 15th of November 2019. Event: 3rd National Patient Safety in Anaesthesia Conference Date: 15th November 2019 Where: College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland, 22 Merion Square, Dublin 2 Programme: Please click here Fee: Non Trainee €200; Trainee €100; Nurse €25 CPD Points Approved: 5.5 Registration form: Click here Topics include: –          Incident Reporting –          Legislation & Regulation –          Key Issues in Anaesthesia Safety Programme: 3rd National Patient Safety in Anaesthesia Conference Trainee Presentations: KP Moore Medal Competition 2019  – All presentations related to Patient Safety Call for abstracts and application form. For further details,

We invite you to submit abstracts for the South of Ireland Association of Anaesthetists Autumn Meeting (in association with the 21st Current Controversies in Anesthesia & Peri-operative Medicine meeting). Venue: The meeting will be held on Friday 11th October 2019 in the Skellig Hotel, Dingle, Co. Kerry. Meeting agenda:  Autumn meeting 2019 Agenda. Submission Deadline: The deadline to submit an abstract is Friday 21th September 2019. Submission Process: Please read more details  and download Abstract Submission Form (.doc) For further information visit:

The BJA/CAI Collaborative Research Grant is offered initially in NIAA Grants Round 2, which is NOW OPEN for applications with a closing date of 20th September. Decisions on applications submitted will be made at the committee meeting to be held in December 2019.  Up to €100K (~£89.5k) per grant The closing date for applications is noon, Friday 20 September 2019 Aim The grants are intended to support collaborative research projects in Anaesthesia, Critical Care or Pain Management between BJA/RCoA and CAI and may be for salaries or for the purchase of items of equipment. The

The College of Anaesthesiologists invites you to join Dr N.G Kostopoulos, Athens, Greece & Vaidya Asvin Barot, London UK as they deliver a lecture on the Holistic Approach to Wellbeing. For more information on the speakers please see: Website For those unable to attend on the night the event will be live-streamed. The link will be available here closer to the date. Please reserve your free ticket on Eventbrite Live Stream Here Event Title: #3 Physician Wellbeing Event Date and Venue:  Friday 6th September at 6.30pm in the College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland, Dublin  

Event: Local Anaesthesia for Opthalmic Surgery (11th Live Demonstration Block Course) The Department of Anaesthesia, Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital in association with The College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland and Irish College of Opthalmologists present: A workshop for anaesthesiologists and opthomologists comprising lectures and local anaesthetic block demonstrations. Date: 22nd October 2019 Where: Education & Conference Centre, Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital, Adelaide Road, Dublin 2. CME Points:  5 CME points approved with The College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland and Irish College of Opthalmologists. Programme: Download detailed schedule for the day (.pdf). Course Fee: Consultants

Officers 2019-2020 Dr Brian Kinirons President Professor Gerry Fitzpatrick Vice-President  Dr Anne Hennessy Honorary Secretary Dr John O 'Dea Honorary Treasurer Dr Brian O Brien Chair, Training & Education Committee Dr Rory Page Hospital Accreditation Dr Padraig Sheeran Chair, National Clinical Programme of Anaesthesia & IMGTI Cultural Liason Dr Niamh Hayes Chair, Education Committee Dr Ehtesham Khan Chair, Credentials Committee Dr Kevin Clarkson Chair , Quality & Safety Advisory Committee  Dr Calathur Nanda Chair , Alumni Forum Dr Miriam Langdon Chair, Professional Competence Committee Prof David Honan Chair, Examinations Committee Dr Michael Griffin Director Prof George Shorten Chair, ASM CAI Congress Dr Len O 'Hagan Independent Non Executive Director Mr Enda Brazel Independent Non Executive Director Co-opted Members Dr Brendan Conroy Dean, Faculty of Pain Medicine Dr

3rdJuly 2019   Dr Brian Kinirons, President of the College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland, has the following message for Trainees and Fellows following the publication of the Medical Council survey 'Your Training Counts’. Today, the Medical Council published some of the findings of its survey of trainee doctors in Ireland, Your Training Counts (YTC) which sought the experiences of doctors in all training bodies in Ireland in 2017. The College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland actively encouraged doctors enrolled on our SAT training programme to participate in this survey which was based on