The 4th National Annual Patient Safety in Anaesthesiology Conference took place, virtually, on Friday, November 13th. One hundred and eighty attendees heard excellent and expert presentations from: Dr. Dorothy Breen Rescuing the Acutely Deteriorating Patient; Dr. Amy Donnelly Opioids for Acute Pain in Ireland; Dr. Emma Cunningham Postoperative Cognitive Events in the Older Patient; Prof. Andrew Smith The Helsinki Declaration on Patient Safety in Anaesthesiology; Dr. John Fitzsimons Shared Learning; and Dr. Stephen Drage Learning from the HSIB Maternity Investigation Program.   The KP Moore Medal also attracted substantial attention, with 95 abstracts submitted prior to the event.

University Hospital Galway is delighted to announce the Sustainability Day that they will take place coming Tuesday 17th November. Morning lecture starts at 08:00-08:45 and will follow up with all-day recycling event for UHG staff. Evening lectures/ talks will take place from 17:30 until 21:00 The webinar will be hosted by Dr Kevin Clarkson. It has been approved for 4 CPD points. Programme: UHG Sustainability Day 2020 [pdf] To register for the webinar please click here:   

The College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland is delighted to announce that the forthcoming Gilmartin Lecture 2020 will be delivered by Dr Miriam Colleran, Consultant in Palliative Medicine. The Lecture will take place on Thursday 10th December 2020 at 6pm. The meeting will be held as a virtual meeting. Date: Thursday 10th December, 6pm - 7.15pm Venue: Zoom Conference Programme: 6pm Medal Ceremony 6.15pm Gilmartin Lecture titled ''Palliative Care in ICU in a time of change'' will be delivered by Miriam Colleran, Consultant in Palliative Medicine CPD Points: TBC Fees: Free of charge Registration is not yet open. Flyer can be viewed

Dear colleague, After a very successful webinar in September which was attended by over 250 people worldwide, UKMCS are now taking registrations for their 3rd webinar on Vascular disease in pregnancy. The event is on Thursday 19th November 2020, 18:30 – 20.00 (UK, GMT). Its free. For more information please see the attached flyer[pdf] To register please email with your name and details including your GMC or NMC number. Please indicate in your email if you wish to bring a case for discussion.

We are pleased to announce that this year’s winner of the CAI Medical Essay Competition is Kaumal Mirza (Trinity College Dublin, Year 4). The runners up are Alexandr Sacha Lefebvre Magder (RCSI Final Year) and John Taaffe (RCSI Year 4) scored the third. To access and read the winning essays please click below: Kaumal Mirza - Essay [pdf] Alexandr Magdre - Essay [pdf] John Taaffe - Essay [pdf] The standard of submissions this year was extremely high and incredibly there were over 39 excellent essay submissions. We thank all candidates for their interest in Anaesthesiology

This year’s Global Health Symposium is being held on 23 October 2020. The theme of the meeting is 'Learning from COVID-19 – Improving Health for all Through Global Health Education' and the event will address key challenges facing workforce development and growth in low- and middle-income countries and how to incorporate sustainable solutions into medical training in Ireland. Programme [pdf] To register for the Webinar please click here: More information is available at